Psorodonotus fieberi (Fieber, 1853)


Psorodonotus fieberi: Male (Northern Greece, Mt. Voras, 2300m above sea level, late July 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Male (Northern Greece, Mt. Voras, 2300m above sea level, late July 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Male (Northern Greece, Mt. Voras, 2300m above sea level, late July 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Male (Northern Greece, Mt. Voras, 2300m above sea level, late July 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Female (Northern Greece, Mt. Voras, 2300m above sea level, late July 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Female (Northern Greece, Mt. Voras, 2300m above sea level, late July 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Habitat on Mt. Voras (Northern Greece, July 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Habitat on Mt. Voras (Northern Greece, July 2010) [N]

Habitat:
Psorodonotus fieberi lives in mountain meadows in heights of about 1400 to 2600m above sea level, especially in places with partially slightly higher vegetation. In Northern Greece I found adults together with Polysarcus denticauda between 2000 and 2500m above sea level (Mt Voras) on dry and wet, grazed meadows.

Life cycle:
The adults appear from June to September. They live on the ground and often hide in clumps of grass, etc. It is often only by the loud singing of the males (short, high-pitched tones) that calls attention to the locally often surprisingly common species.

Remarks:
Psorodonotus fieberi occurs in several subspecies (illyricus, fieberi, macedonicus) in the Balkan Peninsula from Istria in the north to the south as far as Greece. Today these three taxa are often dealt with as separate species. The photos from M. Voras in N-Greece show macedonicus.

Psorodonotus fieberi (Fieber, 1853) (Balkan-Bergschrecke)


Psorodonotus fieberi: Männchen (Nordgriechenland, Mt. Voras, 2300m NN, Ende Juli 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Männchen (Nordgriechenland, Mt. Voras, 2300m NN, Ende Juli 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Männchen (Nordgriechenland, Mt. Voras, 2300m NN, Ende Juli 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Männchen (Nordgriechenland, Mt. Voras, 2300m NN, Ende Juli 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Weibchen (Nordgriechenland, Mt. Voras, 2300m NN, Ende Juli 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Weibchen (Nordgriechenland, Mt. Voras, 2300m NN, Ende Juli 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Habitat am Mt. Voras (Nordgriechenland, Juli 2010) [N] Psorodonotus fieberi: Habitat am Mt. Voras (Nordgriechenland, Juli 2010) [N]

Lebensraumansprüche:
Psorodonotus fieberi besiedelt Bergwiesen in Lagen von etwa 1400 bis 2600m NN, besonders bei stellenweise etwas höherer Vegetation. In Nordgriechenland fand ich Imagines zusammen mit Polysarcus denticauda zwischen 2000 und 2500m NN (Mt. Voras) auf trockenen und feuchten Weiden.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Imagines erscheinen von Juni bis September. Sie leben am Boden und verstecken sich oft in Grasbüscheln etc. Man wird meist erst durch den lauten Gesang der Männchen (kurze, schrille Töne) auf die an den sehr lokalen Fundstellen meist erstaunlich häufige Art aufmerksam.

Bemerkungen:
Psorodonotus fieberi kommt auf der Balkan-Halbinsel von Istrien im Norden nach Süden bis nach Griechenland in mehreren Unterarten (illyricus, fieberi, macedonicus) vor. Heute werden diese teils als eigene Arten gewertet. Die Photos vom Mount Voras in Nordgriechenland zeigen macedonicus.