Decticus verrucivorus (Linnaeus, 1758)


Decticus verrucivorus: Male (eastern Swabian Alb) [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Female (eastern Swabian Alb) [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Female (N-Greece, Askio mountains near Siatista, late June 2013, long-winged form) [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Female [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Female (Italy, Abruzzi, Monti della Laga, Monte Mezzo di Campotosto, 1600m, Ende September 2016) [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Larve [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Larva [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Larva [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Habitat on the Swabian Alb [N]

Nutrition:
Carnal and herbal food. The species also captures grasshoppers up to cannibalism.

Habitat:
Decticus verrucivorus is a typical species of extensive, sunny pastures with a mosaic of higher growing and low growing, gappy places. In the Alps, it occurs up to over 2500m above sea level. Decticus verrucivorus is more common in moutainous environments. It also inhabits especially nutrient-poor, dry grasslands and more rarely structurally rich wet meadows and heathlands.

Life cycle:
The larvae are found from mid-April, the adults from late June to October. Eggs are laid in the ground and overwinter mostly multiple (up to 7 times, according to literature).

Endangerment: endangered

Endangerment factors:
In the lowlands and lower mountains Decticus verrucivorus is often highly endangered due to the decline in suitable, large and extensively managed habitats. In the higher elevations (e.g. Alps), it is still one of the most common species in spite of even here occurring agricultural intensification and is currently at relatively little risk.

Remarks:
The spread ranges from eastern and Northern Spain and southern England across Europe and temperate Asia to the Pacific.



Decticus albifrons | Decticus aprutianus

Decticus verrucivorus (Linnaeus, 1758) (Warzenbeißer)


Decticus verrucivorus: Männchen (Ostalb) [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Weibchen (Ostalb) [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Weibchen (Nordgriechenland, Askion-Gebirge bei Siatista, Ende Juni 2013, langflügelige Form [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Weibchen [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Weibchen (Italien, Abruzzen, Monti della Laga, Monte Mezzo di Campotosto, 1600m, Ende September 2016) [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Larve [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Larve [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Larve  [N] Decticus verrucivorus: Habitat auf der Schwäbischen Alb [N]

Nahrung:
Tierische und pflanzliche Kost. Die Art frisst auch Heuschrecken bis hin zum Kannibalismus.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Der Warzenbeißer ist eine typische Art von extensiven, sonnigen Weiden mit einem Mosaik aus höher- und niedrigwüchsigen, lückigen Anteilen. In den Alpen kommt Decticus verrucivorus bis über 2500m NN vor. Decticus verrucivorus ist in gebirgigen Gegenden häufiger. Daneben besiedelt die auffällige Heuschrecke vor allem Halbtrockenrasen, aber gelegentlich auch strukturreiche Feuchtwiesen und Heiden.

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Larven findet man ab Mitte April, die Imagines ab Ende Juni bis Oktober. Die Eier werden in den Boden abgelegt und überwintern meist mehrfach (bis zu 7 mal laut Literatur).

Gefährdung: gefährdet

Gefährdungsursachen:
Im Tiefland und den Mittelgebirgen ist Decticus verrucivorus durch den Rückgang an geeigneten, relativ großflächigen und extensiv genutzten Habitaten gefährdet bis stark gefährdet. In den Hochlagen der Alpen ist sie trotz auch dort zu beobachtender landwirtschaftlicher Intensivierung noch eine der häufigsten Arten und derzeit relativ wenig bedroht.

Bemerkungen:
Die Verbreitung reicht von Ost- und Nordspanien und Südengland über Europa und das gemäßigte Asien bis zum Pazifik.



Decticus albifrons | Decticus aprutianus