Adscita chloros


Adscita chloros: Male [S] Adscita chloros: Male (freshly emerged) [S] Adscita chloros: Female [S] Adscita chloros: Ovae at Centaurea stoebe agg. (N-Greece) [N] Adscita chloros: Larva [S] Adscita chloros: Larva, half in its feeding mine [S] Adscita chloros: Larva [M] Adscita chloros: Infested Centaurea scabiosa (mid-May 2007, Provence, France) [N] Adscita chloros: Habitat in Northern Greece (liught forest with Centaurea stoebe agg.) [N] Adscita chloros: Habitat: nutrient-poor grasslands with Centaurea scabiosa in the Provence, France [N]

Host plants:
Centaurea species, especially Centaurea scabiosa and Centaurea stoebe agg.

Habitat:
Adscita chloros inhabits nutrient-poor, often steppe-like grasslands, heathland and forest clearings with sparse vegetation. In the Cozie Alps I observed caterpillars in a loose pine forest on small clearings with Aporia crataegi, Iphiclides podalirius and Parnassius apollo at about 1200 m above sea level. In Provence I found caterpillars on Centaurea scabiosa in a large grassland complex with Melitaea phoebe, Spiris striata, Hipparchia statilinus and Arethusana arethusa. In Northern Greece I encountered many adults in a sparse pine forest in the Mount Olympus region where it was less hot than in the open country.

Life cycle:
The adults fly in one generation in June/July (early August). Hibernation takes place as a young caterpillar. I found several caterpillars in May.

Endangerment factors:
Adscita chloros occurs only very locally in Germany in the area of Brandenburg, where it is threatened by the decline of xerothermic sand grasslands. Adscita chloros is, however, quite common in parts of Southern Europe and the Southwestern Alps.

Remarks:
As many foresters (green Zygaenidae) Adscita chloros is to distinguish from similar species with certainty only by genital dissection, even if this species shows a strong and characteristic yellow-green colour.

The distribution extends from Southern France across central and Southeastern Europe to Eastern Siberia.



Adscita alpina | Adscita dujardini | Adscita geryon | Adscita globulariae | Adscita mannii | Adscita notata | Adscita statices | Adscita subsolana

Adscita chloros (Kupferglanz-Grünwidderchen)


Adscita chloros: Männchen [S] Adscita chloros: Männchen (frisch geschlüpft) [S] Adscita chloros: Weibchen [S] Adscita chloros: Eigelege an Centaurea stoebe agg. (N-Griechenland) [N] Adscita chloros: Raupe [S] Adscita chloros: Raupe, halb in ihrer Platzmine [S] Adscita chloros: Raupe [M] Adscita chloros: Von Raupen besiedelte Centaurea scabiosa (Mitte Mai 2007, Provence) [N] Adscita chloros: Habitat in Nordgriechenland (lichter Wald mit Centaurea stoebe agg.) [N] Adscita chloros: Habitat: Magerrasenlandschaft mit Centaurea scabiosa in der Provence [N]

Raupennahrungspflanzen:
Centaurea-Arten, besonders Centaurea scabiosa und Centaurea stoebe agg.

Lebensraumansprüche:
Adscita chloros besiedelt Magerrasen, Steppenheiden und Waldlichtungen mit magerer Vegetation. In den Cottischen Alpen beobachtete ich Raupen in einem lockeren Kiefernwald auf kleinen Lichtungen mit Baumweißling, Segel- und Apollofalter auf ca 1200 m NN. In der Provence sah ich Raupen an Centaurea scabiosa auf einem großen Magerrasenkomplex mit Melitaea phoebe, Spiris striata, Hipparchi statilinus und Arethusana arethusa. In Nordgriechenland begegeneten mir zahlreiche Falter in einem lichten Wald im Olymp-Massiv (wo es weniger heiß als an offenen Stellen war).

Entwicklungszyklus:
Die Falter fliegen in einer Generation im Juni/Juli. Die Überwinterung erfolgt als Jungraupe. Raupen fand ich im Mai.

Gefährdungsursachen:
Adscita chloros kommt in Deutschland nur sehr selten in der Umgebung Brandenburgs vor, wo sie durch den Rückgang der xerothermen (Sand-)Magerrasen bedroht ist. Adscita chloros ist aber beispielsweise in den Südwestalpen (etwa den Cottischen Alpen) und in Teilen Südeuropas recht häufig.

Bemerkungen:
Wie viele Grünwidderchen ist Adscita chloros von ähnlichen Arten als Falter nur genitaliter sicher zu unterscheiden, wenn bei dieser Art auch ein charakteristischer gelbgrüner Farbton ausgebildet ist.

Die Verbreitung erstreckt sich von Südfrankreich über zentral- und Südosteuropa bis nach Ostsibirien.



Adscita alpina | Adscita dujardini | Adscita geryon | Adscita globulariae | Adscita mannii | Adscita notata | Adscita statices | Adscita subsolana